On February 17, 2016, Benchmark Canada hosted the Benchmark Canada Awards at the Intercontinental Hotel on Front Street in Toronto to recognize the top attorneys and firms in the country for all of their exceptional work throughout the past year.

The winning litigators of the evening were as follows:

Provincial Litigator Awards

Perry Mack (Peacock Linder Halt & Mack) – Alberta Litigator of the Year

Robert Pineo (Patterson Law) – Atlantics Litigator of the Year

Ken McEwan (Hunter Litigation Chambers) - British Columbia Litigator of the Year

Dave Hill (Hill Sokalski Walsh Olson) – Manitoba Litigator of the Year

Michael Barrack (Blake Cassels & Graydon) – Ontario Litigator of the Year

Patrick Ouellet (Woods) – Quebec Litigator of the Year

Provincial Firm Awards

Blake Cassels & Graydon – Alberta Firm of the Year

Stewart McKelvey – Atlantics Firm of the Year

Fasken Martineau – British Columbia Firm of the Year

Fillmore Riley - Manitoba Firm of the Year

Torys – Ontario Firm of the Year

Stikeman Elliott – Quebec Firm of the Year

MacPherson Leslie & Tyerman - Saskatchewan Firm of the Year


Practice Area Award Winners

Maxime Faille (Gowling Lafleur Henderson) – Aboriginal Litigator of the Year

Robert Deane (Borden Ladner Gervais) – Arbitration Litigator of the Year

Michael Eizenga (Bennett Jones) – Class-Action Litigator of the Year

Katherine Kay (Stikeman Elliott) – Competition Litigator of the Year

Glenn Zacher (Stikeman Elliott) – Energy / Resources Litigator of the Year

D.J. Miller (Thornton Grout Finnigan) – Insolvency Litigator of the Year

Alan D’Silva (Stikeman Elliott) – Insurance Litigator of the Year

David Aitken (Aitken Klee) – Intellectual Property Litigator of the Year

Darryl Cruz (McCarthy Tétrault) – Medical Defense / Health Litigator of the Year

Michael Smith (Borden Ladner Gervais) – Product Liability Litigator of the Year

Mason Poplaw (McCarthy Tétrault) – Securities Litigator of the Year

David Porter (McCarthy Tétrault) White-Collar / Investigations Litigator of the Year


Trial Lawyer of the Year

Sheila Block (Torys)


Emerging Talent Award of the Year

Luciana Brasil (Branch MacMaster)


Impact Cases of the Year

McCarthy Tétrault – for the successful representation of Abbott Laboratories on appeal in the first case in which a British Columbia court has denied certification of a prescription pharmaceutical class action

Woods – for one of the most important condemnations awarded in Canadian judicial history for Quebec telecom Videotron.

Blake Cassels & Graydon – for its successful representation of Celestica at the Supreme Court of Canada in a securities class action.

Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg – for obtaining dismissal of a class action brought against GM Canada on behalf of GM automotive dealers that were discontinued as part of GM Canada’s restructuring.

Practice Area Award Winners

Fasken Martineau – Arbitration Firm of the Year

Gowling Lafleur Henderson – Aboriginal Firm of the Year

Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg – Class Action Firm of the Year

Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg – Competition Firm of the Year

Bennett Jones – Energy / Resource Firm of the Year

Thornton Grout Finnigan – Insolvency Firm of the Year

Gowling Lafleur Henderson – Insurance Firm of the Year

Smart & Biggar – Intellectual Property Firm of the Year

Harper Grey – Medical Defense / Health Firm of the Year

Fasken Martineau – Product Liability Firm of the Year

Blake Cassels & Graydon – Securities Firm of the Year

Pro bono Firm of the Year

Borden Ladner Gervais


In-House Counsel Team of the Year



Benchmark would like to once again thank all of the attendees of the evening for the time from their busy schedules to join us in our recognition of these outstanding firms and litigators.

For access to photographs of the evening, please contact Managing Editor Michael Rafalowich at mrafalowich@euromoneyny.com.