On February 11th, Benchmark Litigation hosted its fourth annual Benchmark Awards ceremony in which it recognized the country’s most distinguished litigators and their firms for their work over the past twelve months. 

The event was attended by a record-making 287 guests from as many as 42 different states, a fact which marked the most attended awards ceremony in Benchmark’s history.

Photographs from the award ceremony may be found here: http://hechlerphotographers.zenfolio.com/p677872836

The individual award winners of the evening were, in order of their announcement, as follows:

Hall of Fame Winners:

Evan Chesler (Cravath Swaine & Moore) – Hall of Fame Winner

Robert Giuffra (Sullivan & Cromwell) – Hall of Fame Winner


Practice Area Attorneys of the Year:

George Cary (Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton) – Antitrust Attorney of the Year

Mark Perry (Gibson Dunn & Crutcher) – Appellate Attorney of the Year

James Bromley (Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton) – Bankruptcy Attorney of the Year

Dane Butswinkas (Williams & Connolly) – General Commercial Attorney of the Year

Mary Beth Forshaw (Simpson Thacher & Bartlett) – Insurance Attorney of the Year

David Pritikin (Sidley Austin) – Intellectual Property Attorney of the Year

Mark Friedman (Debevoise & Plimpton) – International Arbitration Attorney of the Year

Heidi Hubbard (Williams & Connolly) – Product Liability Attorney of the Year

Adam Hakki (Shearman & Sterling) – Securities Attorney of the Year

Karen Seymour (Sullivan & Cromwell) – White Collar / Enforcement / Investigations Attorney of the Year

Mark Lebovitch (Bernstein Litowitz) – Plaintiff Attorney of the Year

Elkan Abramowitz (Morvillo Abramowitz) – Trial Lawyer of the Year


Outstanding In-House Counsel:

Steven Crooke (Layne Christensen) – Outstanding In-House Counsel

David Howard (Microsoft) – Outstanding In-House Counsel

Tonja De Sloover (Energy Transfer Partners) – Outstanding In-House Counsel

Charles Kalil (DOW Chemical Company) – Outstanding In-House Counsel


The firm award winners of the evening were as follows:

State Firms of the Year:

Bradley Arant Boult Cummings – Alabama Firm of the Year

Osborn Maledon - Arizona Firm of the Year

Sidley Austin – California Firm of the Year

Wiggin and Dana – Connecticut Firm of the Year

Abrams & Bayliss – Delaware Firm of the Year

Williams & Connolly – DC Firm of the Year

Bilzin Sumberg – Florida Firm of the Year

Troutman Sanders - Georgia Firm of the Year

Alston Hunt Floyd & Ing - Hawaii Firm of the Year

Gjording Fouser – Idaho Firm of the Year

Kirkland & Ellis – Illinois Firm of the Year

Barnes & Thornburg - Indiana Firm of the Year

Nymaster Goode - Iowa Firm of the Year

Stoll Keenon Ogden – Kentucky firm of the Year

Barrasso Usdin – Louisiana Firm of the Year

Verrill Dana – Maine Firm of the Year

Whiteford Taylor Preston – Maryland Firm of the Year

Ropes & Gray - Massachusetts Firm of the Year

Bodman - Michigan Firm of the Year

Ciresi Conlin – Minnesota Firm of the Year

Brunini Grantham Grower & Hewes – Mississippi Firm of the Year

Greensfelder Hemker & Gale - Missouri Firm of the Year

Crowley Fleck - Montana Firm of the Year

Baird Holm - Nebraska Firm of the Year

Lewis Roca Rothgerber Christie - Nevada Firm of the Year

Preti Flaherty – New Hampshire Firm of the Year

Cole Schotz – New Jersey Fimr of the Year

Rodey Dickason Sloan Akin & Robb - New Mexico

Holwell Shuster Goldberg – New York Firm of the Year

Brooks Pierce – North Carolina Firm of the Year

Zuger Kiris & Smith - North Dakota Firm of the Year

Thompson Hine – Ohio Firm of the Year

Crowe & Dunlevy – Oklahoma Firm of the Year

Lane Powell – Oregon Firm of the Year

Morgan Lewis & Bockius – Pennsylvania Firm of the Year

Adler Pollock & Sheehan - Rhode Island Firm of the Year

Nexsen Pruet - South Crolina Firm of the Year

Johnson Janklow Abdallah Bollweg & Parsons – South Dakota Firm of the Year

Bradley Arant Boult Cummings – Tennessee Firm of the Year

Lynn Pinker Cox & Hurst – Texas Firm of the Year

Holland & Hart - Utah Firm of the Year

Gravel & Shea - Vermont Firm of the Year

Hunton & Williams – Virginia Firm of the Year

Corr Cronin Michelson Baumgardner Forr & Moore – Washington Firm of the Year

Godfey & Kahn – Wisconsin Firm of the Year


Impact Cases:

Gibson Dunn & Crutcher – recognized for handling the case of Clements v. AT&T

Kaye Scholer – recognized for their representation of Pfizer in an action against their prescription drug, Zoloft

Kirkland & Ellis – recognized for their representation of SIPC when it the SEC brought a case to force SIPC to cover the claims of investors who lost money in convicted financier Alan Stanford’s $ 7 billion Ponzi scheme

Simpson Thacher – recognized for their successful handling of Deutsche Bank’s DB Structured Products division and its various mortgage repurchase put-back actions, for which, in 2015, a New York Court of Appeals unanimously held that the claims of the plaintiffs were barred by the statute of limitations 

Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan – recognized for their successful representation of ViaSat in a patent infringement and breach of contract suit against Space Systems Loral 

Williams & Connolly – recognized for their handling of an antitrust class action against their client AstraZeneca

Sullivan & Cromwell – recognized for their obtaining of a dismissal of federal and state litigation against their client Porsche 

Lynn Tillotson Pinker & Cox – recognized for their role in Energy Transfer Partners v. Enterprise and Enbridge


Practice Area Firms of the Year:

Kaye Scholer – Antitrust Firm of the Year

Boies Schiller & Flexner - Appellate Firm of the Year

Kirkland &Ellis – Bankruptcy Firm of the Year

Cravath Swaine & Moore – General Commercial Firm of the Year

Simpson Thacher & Bartlett – Insurance Firm of the Year

McKool Smith – Intellectual Property Firm of the Year

Debevoise & Plimpton – International Arbitration Firm of the Year

Kirkland & Ellis – Product Liability Firm of the Year

Paul Weiss – Securities Firm of the Year

Cleary Gottlieb – White Collar / Enforcement / Investigations Firm of the Year


Once again, we at Benchmark Litigation extend our congratulations to all of the evening’s winners and attendees and thank our guests for their continuing support of our projects.


Following the awards ceremony, the Benchmark Litigation 2017 research cycle is underway.  We wish each firm and attorney the best of luck with this year’s research cycle and look forward to reviewing their submissions.