On February 27th Benchmark Litigation hosted the first part of it ninth annual US awards in which it recognized the country’s most distinguished litigators and their firms for their work over the past twelve months.

This year for the first time the brand is having two seperate ceremonies, one on the East coast at the Pierre, New York on February 27 and one on the West coast at The St Regis, San Francisco on March 5.

In New York the sold-out audience saw Katherine Forrest of Cravath Swaine & Moore and Ted Wells of Paul Weiss inducted into the Benchmark Litigation Hall of Fame. Wells also took the coveted award of "Trial Lawyer of the Year."

Another highlight of the evening was Simpson Thacher's Jonathan Youngwood collecting the Pro Bono award for his firm for its work in the Brown v. Madison County case concerning racially motivated policing.

Firms from over half of the states plus DC were represented in the room. More firms will be attending the inaugural West Coast ceremony on March 14. Please click the link below to see the shortlist for that ceremony or email rebecca.synnott@euromoneyny.com for more details.

Benchmark US Awards West Coast Ceremony shortlist

Photographs from the New York award ceremony may be found HERE.

Congratulations to the winners, all of which are listed below:


Alabama Firm of the Year
Lightfoot Franklin & White

Arkansas Firm of the Year
Quattlebaum Grooms & Tull

Connecticut Firm of the Year
Wiggin and Dana

Delaware Firm of the Year
Ross Aronstam & Moritz

District of Columbia Firm of the Year
Williams & Connolly

Florida Firm of the Year
Podhurst Orseck

Georgia Firm of the Year
King & Spalding

Illinois Firm of the Year
Kirkland & Ellis

Indiana Firm of the Year
Faegre Baker Daniels

Iowa Firm of the Year
Nyemaster Goode

Kansas Firm of the Year
Rouse Frets Goss White Gentile & Rhodes

Kentucky Firm of the Year
Stites & Harbison

Louisiana Firm of the Year
Barrasso Usdin Kupperman Freeman & Sarver

Maine Firm of the Year
Preti Flaherty Beliveau & Pachios

Maryland Firm of the Year
Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough

Massachusetts Firm of the Year
Choate Hall & Stewart

Michigan Firm of the Year

Minnesota Firm of the Year
Blackwell Burke

Mississippi Firm of the Year
Brunini Grantham Grower & Hewes

Missouri Firm of the Year

New Hampshire Firm of the Year
Nixon Peabody

New Jersey Firm of the Year
Sills Cummis & Gross

New York Firm of the Year
Wachtell Lipton Rosen & Katz

North Carolina Firm of the Year
Smith Anderson

North Dakota Firm of the Year
Zuger Kirmis & Smith

Ohio Firm of the Year
Ulmer & Berne

Pennsylvania Firm of the Year
Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr

Rhode Island Firm of the Year
Adler Pollock & Sheehan

South Carolina Firm of the Year
Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough

Tennessee Firm of the Year

Texas Firm of the Year
Gibbs & Bruns

Vermont Firm of the Year
Paul Frank + Collins

Virginia Firm of the Year
Hunton Andrews Kurth

West Virginia Firm of the Year
Bowles Rice

Wisconsin Firm of the Year
Gass Weber Mullins



Antitrust Firm of the Year
Winston & Strawn

Appellate Firm of the Year
Gibson Dunn & Crutcher

Bankruptcy Firm of the Year

General Commercial Firm of the Year
Paul Weiss Rifkind Wharton & Garrison

Insurance Firm of the Year
Blank Rome

Intellectual Property Firm of the Year
Williams & Connolly

International Arbitration Firm of the Year
Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton

Product Liability Firm of the Year
Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough

Securities Firm of the Year
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett

White Collar Crime/Enforcement/Investigations Firm of the Year
Debevoise & Plimpton

Boutique Firm of the Year Firm of the Year
Kaplan Hecker & Fink

Plaintiff Firm of the Year

Trial Firm of the Year
Bartlit Beck


Labor & Employment Management-Side Firm of the Year
Seyfarth Shaw

Labor & Employment Management-Side Attorney of the Year
Elise Bloom

Labor & Employment Employee-Side Firm of the Year
Sanford Heisler & Sharp

Labor & Employment Employee-Side Attorney of the Year
Shannon Liss-Riordan
Lichten & Liss-Riordan



Antitrust Attorney of the Year
Kevin Orsini
Cravath Swaine & Moore

Appellate Attorney of the Year
Willy Jay

Bankruptcy Attorney of the Year
Martin Bienenstock

General Commercial Attorney of the Year
Orin Snyder
Gibson Dunn & Crutcher

Insurance Attorney of the Year
Robert Horkovich
Anderson Kill

Intellectual Property Attorney of the Year
Max Tribble
Susman & Godfrey

International Arbitration Attorney of the Year
Michael Kim
Kobre & Kim

Product Liability Attorney of the Year
Allison Brown

Securities Attorney of the Year
Adam Hakki
Shearman & Sterling

White Collar Crime/Investigations/Enforcement Attorney of the Year
Sean Hecker
Kaplan Hecker & Fink

Plaintiff Attorney of the Year
Bill Reid
Reid Collins & Tsai

Trial Lawyer of the Year
Ted Wells
Paul Weiss Rifkind Wharton & Garrison


Katherine Forrest
Cravath Swaine & Moore

Ted Wells
Paul Weiss Rifkind Wharton & Garrison



  • New York v. ExxonMobil (Paul Weiss Rifkind Wharton & Garrison)
  • US v. Bogucki (Kaplan Hecker & Fink)
  • CNN v. Trump (Gibson Dunn & Crutcher)
  • Title Source Inc. v. HouseCanary Inc. (Susman Godfrey)
  • O’Connor v. Uber (Gibson Dunn & Crutcher; Lichten & Liss-Riordan)
  • In re the Financial Oversight and Management Board for Puerto Rico (Proskauer)
  • Boston Cab Dispatch v. Uber (Boies Schiller & Flexner)
  • Brown vs. Madison County (Simpson Thacher & Bartlett)
  • Fiat Chrysler settlements (Sullivan & Cromwell; Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein; and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton)
  • Sears Chapter 11 (Weil Gotshal & Manges; Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton; Paul Weiss Rifkind Wharton & Garrison; and Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld)


Pro Bono Firm of the Year

Simpson Thacher & Bartlett


Once again, we at Benchmark Litigation extend our congratulations to all of the evening’s winners and attendees and thank our guests for their continuing support of our projects.

The new Benchmark Litigation research cycle is already underway. Firms can register their interest, find full timelines and a list of FAQs, and download all relevant documents HERE.